Detail about Australia Public Holidays 2017

Public holiday 2017

As the year 2016 will soon bid adieu to us, you all must be looking forward to the new list of holidays. We have shared information on major Public Holiday 2017 for all the Australian states. Let us discuss the holidays which are common in all the states of Australia. The major religious and national holidays are observed uniformly in the country. Though, each state decides individually when it comes to substituting the weekend holidays. The date and days of the public holidays 2017 provided here will help you to plan out your outings.

Some holidays are also state and territory based. But the major national public holidays are celebrated on the same day in all the territories. Know the dates of your best festivals in the year 2017. When will Christmas celebrated in 2017? When will the Easter holidays start? You will find all these information with us.

public holidays

National Public Holidays 2017

Following are the major national festivals which the top public holidays in all the states and territories of Australia. The additional holidays continuing the major national holiday may differ in each state.

  • New Year Holidays – The New Year is celebrated worldwide on the 1st of January. The New Year falls on Sunday in the year 2017. Hence, 2nd of January, Monday will be a public holiday to substitute the holiday of New Year falling on Sunday.
  • Australia Day Holiday – 26th January 2017, Thursday is a national public holiday. The day is celebrated as Australia day. The day celebrates anniversary of the first fleet of British ships at New South Wales. It is also known as Anniversary Day.
  • Good Friday – 14th April 2017 – Good Friday is a major religious holiday in all the states. The holiday of Good Friday is also marked with a restricted sale of alcohol in the country. The holiday is followed by Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday holidays.
  • Easter Holidays – Easter holiday marks the longest weekend in the year. If the state is following all Easter holidays, 15th April 2017 to 17th April 2017 are public holidays in the specific state.
  • ANZAC Day – 25th April 2017, Tuesday will celebrate a non-working day for all the states. ANZAC day commemorates sacrifices of all martyrs who have lost their lives in war, conflicts, and peace operations.
  • Christmas Day – 25th December 2017, Monday is a public holidays in australia. The day is the prominent religious festival of the Christians worldwide.
  • Boxing Day – 26th December 2017, Tuesday will also be an off in all the states. The day is known as proclamation day in Australia.

Other major holidays for which dates may differ state-wise are Queen’s Birthday and Labour Day. The states will also have their regional public holidays 2017. Some of the state-specific regional holidays are Canberra Day, Brisbane Day, Melbourne Cup, and Adelaide Day.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.